Elected Officials
Fiscal Officer
Township Meetings
Policies & Guidelines

Fire Department
Road Department
Summit County Sheriff

Parks & Recreation
Senior Center
Special Events
Town Hall

Township Auctions
Township Bids
Trash & Recycling

Contact Us


David P. Calderone (Home Phone: 330-645-6753)
David Calderone was elected Township Trustee to serve from January 1, 2012 through December 31, 2015. Mr. Calderone served as Coventry Fire Chief from 1989 until December 31, 2011 (23 years); he also served as the township service director from 2009 until December 31, 2011. Mr. Calderone holds and Associate’s Degree in Business Management and a Bachelor of Science degree in Emergency Management, both obtained from the University of Akron. Mr. Calderone can be reached at calderone@coventrytownship.com.


Edward D. Diebold (Cell Phone 330-687-0073)
Edward Diebold was elected Township Trustee to serve from January, 1, 2014 through December 31, 2017. Mr. Diebold served on The Zoning Commission form 2009 through 2013 and served as Chairman 2012 and 2013. Mr. Diebold has a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Hazardous Materials Management (emphasis in Industrial Hygiene) from The University of Findlay. Mr. Diebold has been a resident of The Portage Lakes for over 36 years and is engaged to Julie Moline. Julie has 3 daughters Kayla, Kacie, and Makenzie. Mr. Diebold can be reached at diebold@coventrytownship.com.

Tom Seese (Home Phone: 330-644-7475)
Tom Seese was elected in the November 2009 election. His term runs January 1, 2010 to December 31, 2013. Mr. Seese can be reached at seese@coventrytownship.com.
Joni Murgatroyd, CPFA (Home Phone:330-645-0013)
Joni Murgatroyd was appointed as Township Fiscal Officer in 1996, and first elected to the position in 1997. A lifelong Coventry resident and graduate of Coventry High School, Joni worked in private industry for 23 years in the areas of insurance, accounting, as the tax manager of a large corporation, and as a private tax consultant. She has been awarded the designation of Certified Public Finance Administrator (CPFA) from the Association of Public Treasurers of the U.S. and Canada. She has successfully completed the Center for Public Investment Management (CPIM) continuing education requirements as required by O.R.C. 135.22 and 321.46 for Ohio's Public Fund Managers through the Ohio Treasurer of State's Office each year since 1997. She is currently the Treasurer of the Township Association of Summit County (TASC), and has been designated as the TASC member for the Auditor of State Regional Advisory Board. She has also been an active member of the Township Bi-Centennial Committee, the Township Parks Board, and the Ohio Township Association. Mrs. Murgatroyd can be reached at murgatroyd@coventrytownship.com.
Democracy In Action

What is a Township?

The township form of government is the oldest and most efficient in the United States. Townships are even older than the state form of government. Nowhere else do residents have such direct access to those who manage the services and finances of a community.

The three Township Trustees and the Township Fiscal Officer are elected to four year terms in nonpartisan elections. Trustees are responsible for the overall administration of township services including fire and police protection, zoning, roads, and parks. The Township Fiscal Officer handles all financial matters and is the keeper of all township records.

All Meetings are Open.

Trustees meet the second Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. in the Township Hall located at 68 Portage Lakes Dr. All meetings are open to the public. A portion of each meeting is allotted for questions and comments from the public. You are invited to attend! Trustee meetings are also video-taped and are also available on the Township Meetings page of this website.

Please click here
for the Township's policy on speaking at a Public Meeting.